The Pickled Mushroom

Bananas and Books | May 18, 2009

I am very excited: on the 30th of May, there is going to be a flash-mob in Düsseldorf. I love flash-mobs! In case you don’t know, flash-mobs are quite senseless activities organized to take place in a public place suddenly and seemingly out of nowhere, to then disintegrate again just as quickly. For example, a pillow fight in front of a well-known building, or freezing in place for a few minutes. Important is that this activity is completely without any deeper motivation behind it, flash-mobs are never meant to be political or for activism, otherwise it’s just a campaign. Look it up on Youtube, there’s tons of really good flash-mobs there.

So, it’s going to be a banana bang: everyone will bring a banana and there will be two people acting as “triggers” – they will pretend to start a fight and draw their bananas, aiming at each other. This is the signal for everyone else to do this as well! So after a very tense moment of everyone taking aim with their banana, one of the two triggers “shoots”, shouting a loud bang. Here is where it gets fun, because now is the time to really act it and get shot and “die” as dramatically as possible. When everyone is one the ground, there’s waiting for about half a minute, then everyone gets up and leaves like nothing has happened.

I once organized a small flash-mob which consisted of blowing bubbles. It really was quite small, but fun, and this one should be a good deal bigger, and as mentioned before, I’m very excited.

Last Saturday, I was at a small book market, trying to sell some of my old books. (Some? Boxes of them! I just have too many. Or rather, too little space.) I made 11€, which is not much, but okay. However, I found a real treasure among the old books and bought it: a book on soccer, written by Fritz Walter who was a very famous soccer placer and also player in the national team of 1954 when we won the world cup in Switzerland, this is now called the “Miracle of Bern” because Germany’s victory was completely unexpected and it helped give the whole nation a big heads-up in the great post-war depression. So, I found this book by him – and it is signed! By Fritz Walter! There was also a signed autograph picture in there and someone’s old school graduation report from 1938, the writing is so old-fashioned I can hardly read it. Amazing!

Currently I am working on a blouse for Henrietta, and it’s pretty tricky, but I’ll get there. It’s all pretty straight-forward so far, except for the darts at the bust. Oh dear! Something’s really wrong with my concept there, I’ll have to get myself some advice.

I think I’m finally getting over my “I’m not bonding with my doll” blahblah – when I took her measurements, I fell in love with her all over again. Even unpolished as she is, she is such a beautiful work of art already. I love her beautifully sculpted hands, her perfectly moulded ears, her delicate shoulder blades, her tiny toes. And that she is so unfinished only means that she still has so much potential! I cannot wait to finally have the time to work on her again. This week I have school only Monday and Tuesday, I will surely be able to do something about it in the five free days.

Today I also wrote a letter to the company that makes my favourite liquorice – I don’t want to eat it anymore now because it contains gelatine, which is made from animal bones, skins, hooves and horns, and I do not feel comfortable eating that anymore as a vegetarian. However, other products of theirs use agar-agar as a thickener instead of gelatine, and I wrote to them asking for the reason, and if something can be done about it. It probably won’t help much, but it’s a good feeling to have at least tried to do something.

Speaking of food, I’m going to make another post today to keep things neat, and in it I’ll put my recipe for potato soup. It’s really simple and absolutely delicious! I froze the leftovers from last time I made it and I’m going to have them tomorrow together with cucumber salad. Yum!

3 Comments »

  1. Schön, dass es mit dir und Henrietta wieder besser läuft ^^
    Machst du vielleicht bei Gelegenheit mal Fotos?
    Schade, dass dein Seifenblasen-Flashmob so weit weg war (und ich nichts davon wusste), aber ich wünsche dir natürlich viel Spaß bei dem Banana Bang.
    Dass du was gegen die Gelatine in deinem Lieblingslakritz machst ist toll – viel vernünftiger, als einfach aufzuhören, das Zeug zu essen (ich bin keine Vegetarierin, deshalb find’ ich das nicht so schlimm, aber die Tiere, as denen später Gelatine wird, wurden sicher nicht artgerecht gehalten. Und das find’ ich dann auch nicht besonders toll). Warum sollte man hungern, wenn man doch einfach was ändern könnte! Gute Entscheidung. 🙂

    Comment by hedgefairy — May 19, 2009 @ 4:09 pm

  2. Ich hab schon ein paar Fotos gemacht, da ist auch ein ganz tolles – meiner Meinung nach – dabei, nur leider hab ich momentan keine Gelegenheit, die ins Netz zu kriegen – mein PC hier ist so alt, dass der meinen SD-Card-Leser nicht will >.>” Aber ich arbeite dran.
    Ich bin schon ganz kribbelig wegen dem Flashmob 😀 Das ist so genau meine Wellenlänge X3~
    Ich warte noch auf eine Antwort von Katjes, vielleicht kommt da ja was 🙂

    Comment by kjesta — May 19, 2009 @ 6:23 pm

  3. Bei dem banana bang wär ich auch voll gern dabei aber bin das we bei meiner oma xD aber ganz viele meiner freunde gehen da hin ❤ würdm cih freuen wenn du fotos machen könntest xD

    Comment by Liah — May 20, 2009 @ 5:04 pm


Leave a Reply

