The Pickled Mushroom

My little Table is my Joy | May 25, 2009

I’m currently having a creative phase again. I’m working on a watercolour, and I think I’m finally on the right way again concerning my art: after ten months’ worth of lifedrawing I have finally aquired the patience to work on a picture for longer than half an hour.

I love my little desk to bits. Before I got it I felt really limited in living out my creativity here at home, simply because it involved so much ado to set out my colours and clear the kitchen table afterwards, the lighting in the kitchen wasn’t so good, I could never use the table for more than two hours because someone else always needed it. Now I can just leave my things set up all day and whenever I feel the urge I can just sit down and go on painting for a few minutes or hours, however long I want to.

My motif is fairly nonsensical. It evolved from a little doodle that I made just to warm up a bit. From that doodle I made a sketch, then another sheet of detail sketches, and suddenly I just had to work it out in watercolours. Working on it, I see how much I still have to learn. Landscapes, composition, light and shade, colour theory, all that… But it’s good to go over it and make a small list for myself, “I will work on that and that and that”, and the next time I do it I will hopefully have come one step closer to mastering that aspect.

I’m fairly happy because I’m experimenting a lot. I’m using sponges a lot and it’s always exciting to see how it turns out because it’s a bit coincidental how it will turn out. Watercolours are about controlled coincidence – that’s why I love them so much, it’s like you medium is thinking along with you, and sometimes has better plans than yourself, at least that’s how it feels sometimes.

Two days ago I also finally bought a sketchbook – I really needed a new one, and I’m excited to fill it with sketches of everything around me. I already sketched a page full of my rabbit Sally. I want to dedicate the book primarily to drawing from life and technical things (such as perspective, colour theory and the like) to really up my skills a bit. I don’t lack ideas and inspiration in any way, but when I sit down to get them onto the paper, I notice how there’s still so much that I don’t know which inhibits me from just letting go and creating the art I want to.

Yesterday at school we had a discussion in philosophy class concerning ethics in dealing with animals. We watched two documentaries, “Chicken production” and “Cattle production” which dealt with factory farming in Switzerland, but conditions in Germany aren’t better. It was sickening, to say the least, and I’m more certain than ever that I’ll stay meatfree and probably manage to make the switch to veganism one day.

Anyway, afterwards we had a discussion of what we had seen. I was the only vegetarian in a class of twenty-five people. Needless to say, I was singled out a bit and had to listen to the most stupid things. I don’t (and don’t want to and can’t anyway) force anyone to be veg*an of any kind, but I just cannot stand pure stupidity and hypocrisy. If you eat meat and support factory farming that way, deal with it. Don’t go along and whine to me how sorry you feel for the chicks that are gassed or the cow that is sliced open half-alive. If you feel all that sorry, draw the conclusion and quit meat or at least buy it from places where the animals had a chance at having a happy life. Don’t tell me that no one should go vegetarian anyway because a single person doesn’t change anything. Don’t berate me for basing my way of acting on my ethics. Don’t call me sick and delusional for walking the walk instead of just talking the talk. If you eat meat and are aware of the fact that it was a living, breathing animal once and still do it, I am perfectly fine with that. It’s the people that complain about being aware of what they eat that get on my nerves.

I’m sorry for this rant, but it just had to get out somehow. As I said, I can live with meat-eaters, but not with hypocrites and plain idiots. In any case, I have to say I’m proud for having stayed calm and matter-of-fact throughout the discussion, that’s usually my weakness in discussions – I get heated up way too quickly.

On the bright side, tomorrow the “banana bang” flashmob is going to take place. I am very excited! And I forgot to write, but I took part in a small mob last Saturday, it was to celebrate the 60th anniversary of Germany getting a constitution. It included reading out loud from the constitution and although there were almost no passersby to see us, I still found it oddly touching. I’m becoming increasingly aware of my desire to get active potilically, environmentally, for animals. No matter how small the effect of what I do, I want to live knowing that I fight for what I believe in.

I’m concluding today’s entry with the first sentence of the German constitution because it is something that I see forgotten everyday at school, in the news, in politics:

The dignity of man (/human) is inviolable.

3 Comments »

  1. Freiwilliges konstruktives Zeichnen? Ich kann dich nur bewundern… O.O
    Wir hatten das dieses Jahr bis zum Abi, und ich fand es schrecklich. Jetzt bin ich aber neugierig und hoffe, dass deine Kamera und dein PC sich irgendwann mal vertragen.

    Es ist schade, dass viele Fleischesser sich nicht annähernd bewusst sind, wie die Maschinerie, aus der sie ihr Essen bekommen, funktioniert, und dann rumjammern, weil die Tiere doch so niedlich sind. Wenn man(ich zum Beispiel) schon Fleisch isst, sollte man dem Tier, das für einen gestorben ist, dankbar sein und nach Möglichkeit Fleisch aus kontrollierter Bio-Haltung vorziehen.
    Übrigens finde ich es gut, dass du Nicht-Vegetarier nicht nach dem beurteilst, was sie essen, sondern danach, wie sie damit umgehen. ^^

    Comment by hedgefairy — June 1, 2009 @ 4:01 pm

    • Nuja, wenn ich irgendwann mit der Kunst mein Brot verdienen will, muss ja auch gelegentlich was dafür getan werden, gell? ^-^ Und je besser es technisch wird, desto besser kann ich meine ganzen Ideen später umsetzen. Win-win! x3

      Schön, dass es auch Fleischkonsumenten gibt, mit denen man sich sachlich über Vegetarismus und co unterhalten kann 🙂 (vielleicht sind viele meiner Altersgenossen auch einfach noch unreif, wer weiß.)

      Und dass du in Bio-Haltung investierst, finde ich toll! Es ist natürlich auch noch nicht ideal, aber ich wünsche mir ja insgeheim, dass – wenn schon nicht alle Vegetarier/Veganer werden – die Nachfrage nach Fleisch aus wenigstens halbwegs guter Haltung soweit steigt, dass größtenteils darauf umgestellt wird. Jedes bisschen Leid, das man den Tieren erspart, ist ein Schritt in die richtige Richtung.

      Comment by kjesta — June 1, 2009 @ 4:35 pm

  2. Stimmt, du willst ja später was mit Trickfilmen machen, oder irre ich mich da?
    Ja, die Vegetarier-Fleischesser-Diskussion kenn’ ich nur zu gut (auch vom N&S-Forum ^^). Ich denke mir immer, dass es da keine richtige und keine falsche Meinung gibt, damit würde ich mir zu viel anmaßen, finde ich. Es gibt Leute, die Fleisch nicht brauchen und auch nicht mögen, welche, die es als Notwendigkeit sehen und die, die es als etwas Besonderes betrachten – zur Zeit unserer Großeltern war jeden Tag Fleisch zu essen ja auch noch nicht normal. Blöd finde ich es, wenn jemand darauf besteht, der einzig wahren Meinung zu sein, deshalb mag ich auch, um ehrlich zu sein, die Einstellung der meisten Veganer nicht. Mir ist es zu unnatürlich, eher Ersatzprodukte als das, was die Natur bietet, zu verwenden (wobei ich absolut gegen Pelztierhaltund bin und nur Leder, Fell und Wolle von Tieren verwende und trage, die ich auch essen würde. Alles andere ist unlogisch und ziemlich fies). Was die Umstellung auf Bio-Produkte angeht, geb’ ich dir absolut Recht. Lieber geb’ ich ein bisschen mehr aus (auch für Leder und Wolle)und weiß dafür, dass es den Tieren gut ging und sie in halbwegs würdigen Umständen heranwachsen konnten… und so weiter.
    Sehr ergiebiges Thema, wie man sieht. ^^

    Comment by hedgefairy — June 1, 2009 @ 5:33 pm


Leave a Reply

