The Pickled Mushroom

NaNoWriMo… will get you, too! | November 1, 2009

So, there’s this thing called National Novel Writing Month, short: NaNoWriMo. I’ve heard about it a few times in the last few years, but never thought much of it. Well, this year I’m along on the ride and have right now 25 minutes left until November, until absolute literary business.

I must be masochistic. I’m about to start in 24 minutes and I don’t even have names for the majority of the characters in my first scene. At least I’ve got a bit of a plot outline and an idea of the beginning, middle and end of the story, which isn’t too bad considering that enough people start without any plot whatsoever. (Although I have to say that I have 22 minutes to go and am feeling the impulse to ditch my whole plot and write a pirate story instead. Must… resist… won’t… give in…)

Now, this is a bit of a first for me – not just NaNo, but the story itself. It’s going to be a ghost story, which is kind of funny considering that I really don’t like ghosts. (I don’t believe in them, but I prefer to think that they really don’t exist, because they’d scare my pants off me.) Now, last night I was happily staying up late, reading on the internet… And suddenly the old CD player in the livingroom goes off! Let’s just put it down to some technical weirdness, okay? I don’t even want to think about ghosts before writing a story about them. Gladly, I’ve got only one ghost, and he’s not the scary yucky type. Whew. Love you, Albert.

Anyway, let’s have a look at my synopsis:

Ghost of a Touch (working title)

Abraxas Timothy Holt, nicknamed Bas, can hardly believe his luck when he gets to move into his own small house, which is very old but just perfect for him to live out his student life and have some space to create his paintings. What he didn’t know he would get in the bargain is the ghost of a young man that died a century ago and knows only his name, Albert, but cannot for the death of him remember how he died.

As time goes on and the two slowly start unravelling the mystery of Albert’s life and death, they develop a curious relationship that leads Bas to question all the rest of his relationships, including those with his family and girlfriend.

Doesn’t that sound exciting? I filed it as “Mystery & Suspense” because weirdly enough, there’s a board for “Horror & Supernatural”, but only a category for “Horror”. Oh well.

May I mention that I love Abraxas’ name?

Anyway, twelve minutes two go and I still have no names for those other people. Perfect! Let’s get cracking.

You can follow my progress here.

3 Comments »

  1. Wow, das ist wirklich ein sehr ehrgeiziges Projekt!
    Ich muss zugeben, dass ich darüber nachgedacht habe, mitzumachen, aber ich würde es momentan sowieso zu schnell aufgeben. Also bin ich gespannt auf deinen Roman, die Zusammenfassung klingt schon ziemlich interessant.
    Wie laufen deine Tanzstunden?

    Liebe Grüße und weiterhin viel Erfolg,

    Bonnie

    Comment by hedgefairy — November 1, 2009 @ 7:06 pm

    • Ich hab seit Ewigkeiten nicht mehr richtig geschrieben (ergo, seit vor Australien) und bin sooo aufgeregt 😀 Hab auch schon meine ersten 5000 Worte zusammen.

      Meine Tanzstunden machen superviel Spaß! Ist aber schwieriger, als es aussieht, uff.

      Sorry, dass ich in letzter Zeit so wenig update – irgendwie find ich neben der Schule nie den Elan dazu, mir passiert ja momentan so wenig *seufz*

      Comment by kjesta — November 1, 2009 @ 9:28 pm

      • Ach, das kenn’ ich doch, seit ich auf der Uni bin, komme ich auch zu gar nichts mehr. Aber ich freue mich über jeden Blogeintrag von dir. ^^

        Comment by hedgefairy — November 3, 2009 @ 10:26 pm


Leave a Reply

